Painting a steampunk musician and his street organ!

Friendly gentleman plays his 20 pipe street organ named Misty in Balboa Park.
Friendly gentleman plays his 20 pipe street organ named Misty in Balboa Park.

Another wonderful day in Balboa Park. I took lots of photos.

As I walked past the Spreckels Organ Pavilion, I paused for a bit to talk to the creator of a small 20 pipe street organ named Misty. The gentleman, dressed in steampunk gear, was pleased to demonstrate his musical instrument. He made it from a kit. Now he’s inventing another organ of his own design. Using air compressed by a bellows, the music is generated from a perforated paper roll that is turned by hand.

An organ grinder's monkey in a glittery, patriotic hat! I took this photo on a later visit to Balboa Park.
An organ grinder’s monkey in a glittery, patriotic hat! (I took this photo on a later visit to Balboa Park.)

Nearby, a talented artist was painting the musician’s portrait, daubing her canvas with bright color. I felt as if I were walking through a childhood dream, filled with surprising, fanciful sights and sounds.

New wonders await around every corner in Balboa Park!

An artist paints the pipe organ and its friendly creator.
An artist paints the pipe organ and its friendly creator.

UPDATE!

Jim Coffee is the musician–he left a comment! And he actually built the organ from scratch! My misunderstanding!

Very cool!

I live in downtown San Diego and love to walk! You can enjoy even more Cool San Diego Sights by following me on Facebook or Twitter!

Published by

Richard Schulte

Downtown San Diego has been my home for many years. My online activities reflect my love for writing, blogging, walking and photography.

2 thoughts on “Painting a steampunk musician and his street organ!”

  1. Hi Richard….
    Thanks for posting this. I love playing my street organ in Balboa Park. Nice photos. Just a minor correction…not from a kit…but from scratch. Next time you see me please re-introduce yourself. I’d like to thank you in person.
    -Jim Coffee-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! I enjoyed seeing and listening to your street organ! I’ll write an update with a correction about how you built the organ–my error! Should I see you again, I’ll say hello! Richard

      Like

Leave a Reply

